Hey, remember how I used to write things here?

It might seem totally narcissistic, but I recently went back and read several of my entries and thought to myself: this is f*%ing cool. I get to remember moments of my life and whatever food or drink happened to be a part of it. I mean, honestly, even when I don’t cook (which has been few and far between over the last few months) I still pretty much base the quality of my day on how good the eating was and whether or not it was consumed on my own or with the people I’m loving-on.

I also am very much like my father in that I often times base my happiness on the “quality and quantity of my poos” on any given day. See how it all comes full circle?

So, I am once again taking a stab at this whole blogging thing- if not for a continuation of staying in touch with some people I love dearly, than just to have a recipe archive of what I’ve eaten that is worth making again. I’m proud to announce that I’m no longer the only crazy vegetarian in my family (Hi, Paul. Hi Kevin. Hi, Teresa. Welcome to the club)…so maybe someone else might benefit from the recipes I try?

Since it’s been awhile since I’ve posted, I will quickly attempt you catch you up: traveled to Hong Kong with Mom, missed Dad a whole lot after losing him over a year ago (feels like only a day has gone by, while simultaneously feeling like it’s been an eternity since I last spoke to him), played lots of great gigs, wrapped up my first year of teaching at IS 220, scored a new teaching gig for this coming school year at PS 29 in Brooklyn, had an amazing summer off with family and friends, sang at my brother’s wedding (congrats to him and Michelle…Mom somehow married us all off), currently recording my first album with my band Waiting for Jerry, witnessed the birth of my beautiful twin nieces, survived Hurricane Irene and started my Masters in Music Ed at NYU.

Sae and Tae in Hong Kong

Balloon for Steve

Waiting for Jerry at Rockwood Music Hall, New York City

Charlotte and Norah

Needless to say, it’s been awesomely busy and things feel good for the first time in a long while. Cooking up some new recipes is a goal again, but I thought I would start with an easy one that we make a lot around here. It’s great for when you’re in a pinch with no fresh produce. As long as you have garlic, salt, pepper, oil and pasta, you’re good to go. Substitute herbs at your own will.

Enjoy!

Garlic Pasta

1 lb pasta

7-8 garlic cloves, minced

salt

tsp each of sage, thyme, pasley chopped

1/4 cup olive oil

crushed red chili flakes

Cook your pasta according to the directions on the box.

In the meantime, heat the olive oil in a large skillet. Add the garlic and saute over medium heat until they start to look brown. Remove from heat and add salt, pepper and any herbs you wish.

Drain your pasta, reserving about 1/2 a cup of the pasta water. Add to the skillet of herbs and toss briefly over medium heat once again.

Serve.

Done.

