I woke up early today to cure a slight hangover and finish readying the house for my mother’s arrival this morning. She has never visited during the summer months, which means we have been loosely creating an itinerary full of concerts in the park, picnics, and strolls around the neighborhoods. Most importantly, I cannot WAIT to bring my mother to one of my favorite ice cream shops in Brooklyn, Blue Marble.

Summers growing up in Minnesota pretty much revolved around ice cream, meticulously scheduled between sunblock and mosquito spray applications. We would often times pile into the car for regular “DQ” visits, where my father and I would without fail order the peanut buster parfait, each one of us our own, never sharing it with anybody.

If we were at our cabin, we would hop into the boat and dart across the lake to the tiny summer town of Longville, MN, where Frostys proudly serves up a wide variety of Kemps ice cream. To this day, I still name this destination as the best ice cream shop ever. Everything is served with a Minnesota nice smile and a larger scoop than you could possibly find anywhere else.

My adorable niece at Frosty's in Longville, MN

So, in a fit of nostalgia (and hunger) I decided to whip up a recipe of cherry ice cream, something I was inspired to make because of the over-abundance of cherries in the markets these days. Summer has arrived.

Cherry Ice Cream

2 cups heavy cream
1 cup whole milk
1/4 cup honey
3/4 pounds Bing, Lapin, or Sweetheart cherries, pitted and torn into chunks
3 tablespoons cherry liquor or cherry brandy or Amaretto

Place cream, milk, and honey in a medium saucepan. Stir to dissolve the honey. Heat over low to moderate heat, stirring from time to time, until tiny bubbles form around the edges of the pan. Do not let this boil.

Remove from the heat and let cool for 5 minutes. Add the chopped cherries and liquor. Cover and refrigerate until completely chilled… don’t be lazy here! It needs to be cold or the ice cream won’t turn out.

Stir the mixture again to blend and transfer it to an ice cream maker. Freeze according to manufacturer’s instructions and eat the same day.

Makes 1 quart.


