I woke up to a day full of nothing today… I know it sounds incredibly annoying, but I’m going to go ahead and enjoy myself while it lasts.  Luckily, this last year of my life has taught me to be diligent with my time, so I hit the foodie blogosphere and started finding recipes to cook for the week. My husband and I visited Fairway Market with a detailed list in hand and a goal to cook as many meals as we can with what we get.

In my mind, this day marks the first day of summer, since school is done and I got my bestie mcfriend all married off to happily-ever-after land. (Congrats Paul and Dani!) To mark the occasion, I decided to whip up this delicious recipe from Sprouted Kitchen, a food blog that I have long respected and loved, not only for the yummy dishes, but also for the amazing pictures.

I rarely cook with radishes and I couldn’t resist a salad with pineapple and an avocado dressing. I made a few friendly changes to the recipe, mostly by adding carbs. This is the perfect summer dish!

Radish and Pineapple Salad w/Avocado dressing

Adapted from Sprouted Kitchen

6-7 radishes, depending on size
1 can black beans, cooked and drained
1 Cucumber
1 Cup diced pineapple
Handful of fresh basil
Whole wheat pita

Avocado Dressing

1 Avocado
2 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp. honey (more to taste)
2 Tbsp. unfiltered apple cider vinegar
Juice of one lime
Splash of Cholua/Tapatio Hot Sauce
Salt/Pepper

In a small blender or in a bowl, mix the avocado, olive oil, vinegar, lime, honey, hot sauce and salt and pepper to combine. The blender will make it smooth, but a bowl and whisk will still get you a dressing consistency. (I used a potato masher to get through the avocado and then whisked it up)

Use a mandoline to slice the radishes thin. Cut in fourths. Peel and halve the cucumber, scoop out the seeds and dice into small pieces. In a large bowl, combine the radish, cucumber, black beans, diced pineapple and a pinch of salt and pepper. Add desired amount of fresh basil (chopped or slivered).

Mix the dressing and salad and scoop into pita. You could also eat this in lettuce slices or a-top a baguette. Your choice!

