First thing’s first: Let’s pay our respects to summertime and all of its glory through gardening. My husband planted this lovely herb garden and I can’t wait to hack it up and use these ingredients in many upcoming dishes. Thanks, honey. =)

After a wild and crazy semester filled with studying, projects, observation hours, schools, babies, toddlers, mommies, nannies (oh god, the list goes on and on) I have fallen greatly behind on all of my favorite food bloggers and I have lots to catch up on. Luckily things are starting to slow down, which means there might be time to start digging through recipes once again.

I can’t help but miss Smitten Kitchen most of all, which is why I have chosen to post what I think might be the most perfect dip ever created. I made this for my almost-newlywed girlfriend Dani’s bachelorette party and I think I may have pulled off the impossible task of pleasing an entire room full of women… including their waistbands.

White Bean Roasted Red Pepper Dip

by Smitten Kitchen

1 15-ounce can of white cannelini or navy beans
1 small jar roasted red peppers, or about 1 cup, drained
3 ounces cream cheese, softened
1 clove garlic, minced
Juice from half a lemon
Salt and pepper to taste

Puree everything in a food processor until smooth. Serve with pita chips.

