Cranberry Oat Scones

You all know the feeling. Sometimes you just can’t muster up the strength to schlep to the market. When those moments strike, I try my best to jump into creative mode and tear my kitchen apart in desperation to find enough ingredients to make something worth eating. By some miracle, I recently was able to find some delicious scraps of food in which to whip up some scones that provided breakfast (and snacks) for several days, without even leaving the house.

I realize this sounds completely lazy, especially since I live in a neighborhood where I can pretty much find anything I need within walking distance. But there is an art to making use of the ingredients that are already take up space in your cupboards. One of my New Year’s Resolutions was accomplished last week when I emptied my kitchen cabinets in an attempt to finally reorganize. I discovered at least twelve ingredients (example: peanut butter, rice, wheat germ, cocoa powder, sugars, oils, etc) that I had no idea were occupying the limited space in my kitchen.

It takes some brain power and cookbook research, but creating food out of something you already have is always quite satisfying, especially when you didn’t realize you had the ingredients to make something special. Obviously I realize that not everyone reading this blog will have these exact ingredients on hand, but instead I hope to encourage creativity and discovery in your very own kitchen. Good luck!

Cranberry Oat Scones

Makes 8 scones

1 & ¾ cups all purpose  flour

1/3 cup sugar

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted, cold butter, cut into small pieces

3/4 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

1/3 cup dried cranberries

Zest of one lemon

2/3 cup buttermilk

Egg Wash:

1 large egg

1 Tbsp milk or cream

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and place rack in center of oven.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside. (I generally choose not to use the parchment paper preparation, but I have really great pans that treat me quite well. Do what you know is best for your own oven and kitchen!

In a large mixing bowl place the flour, sugar, salt, baking soda, baking powder and whisk to combine.  Add the butter and using either a pastry blender or your fingers cut in the butter until it resembles coarse crumbs.  Add the rolled oats, dried cranberries and zest.  Mix until combined.  Stir in the buttermilk, adding more if necessary, and mix just until the dough comes together.

Transfer to a lightly floured surface and knead the dough four or five times. Roll the dough into a circle that is roughly 7 inches round and about 1 & 1/2 inches thick.  Cut this circle into 8 triangular sections, like a pizza.  Place the scones on the prepared baking sheet.  Make an egg wash of one beaten egg mixed with 1 tablespoon milk or cream and brush the tops of the scones with this mixture.

Bake for about 15 – 18 minutes or until lightly browned and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.   Remove from oven and then turn your broiler on high.  Sift confectioners sugar heavily over the tops of the scones and place them under the broiler.  Broil for just a few seconds, turning the pan as necessary, until the sugar has melted and turns golden brown.  If your oven is anything like mine, be careful with this process and watch your scones carefully, turning the pan if needed. Remove and cool on a wire rack.