Apple Oat Muffins

Oh my! Keeping up with life has been something of a miracle these days. Everything is so busy and cooking has become a distant memory for me! Luckily, my husband has stepped up to the plate in my absence, but I do have some random recipes and musings that I have been meaning to post. It took getting sick (for the eleven hundredth time) for me to finally decide to post again.

There is only one week left of madness and insanity before we can finally slow down and take a few days to enjoy life in this great city: Thanksgiving! John and I have four glorious days off in which we hope to slow down, breathe, and of course, cook. This year’s Thanksgiving meal will be spent with our dear friends, Team Jost, as well as my cousin and possibly his fiance (fingers crossed she can get the time off)… and of course any other sad outcasts unable to flee the city for home. The celebration will take place the Saturday after Thanksgiving and leading up to it, I plan to pre-cook as much as possible and enjoy a serious date out in the city with my husband. Sunday: I have mentally set aside this day for homework and blogging, so do check back for an update on how things went. This year will not only be vegetarian, but we also have someone coming that does not eat dairy OR soy (oy!)… I’ve been scouring the Internet for ideas and I can’t wait to make both vegetarian and vegan/non soy meals to please everyone there… except of course, the meat eaters, who can obviously deal.

In the meantime, I will try to post a few recipes that have been collecting Mac book dust. I give you my first, albeit completely accidental, almost fat-free muffins! How does one accidentally make something healthy? It’s very simple: you purchase buttermilk that has a price tag over the words “fat free” and you use it and wonder why your muffins taste “different.”
Not bad different… in fact, kinda good, unexpected different. Once we figured out what had happened, we both ate the muffins more freely and without shame! In fact all of them were gone in a few days! What a lovely mistake!

Using a large muffin-top pan will create perfect muffins

Apple-Oat Muffins
from Good House Keeping

2 cups old-fashioned or quick-cooking oats
1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 cup fat free buttermilk (or use the full fat if you want a bit more “full” flavor)
2 TBSP vegetable oil
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 cup (1 to 2 medium) shredded Golden Delicious or Granny Smith apples– we used golden delicious
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped (we omitted)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Grease 12 standard muffin-pan cups (I used my special large muffin tin from Williams Sonoma )  In large bowl, combine oats, flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and ground cinnamon.

In medium bowl, with fork, beat buttermilk, oil, and egg until well blended; stir in shredded apples. Add apple mixture to flour mixture, and stir just until flour mixture is moistened (batter will be very thick and lumpy). Stir in chopped walnuts.

Spoon batter into prepared muffin-pan cups. Bake 23 to 25 minutes or until muffins begin to brown and toothpick inserted in center of muffins comes out clean. Immediately remove muffins from pan. Serve warm, or cool on wire rack to serve later.

Shared with: John
Paired with: delicious coffee, of course

