This was one of those recipes that I happened upon and immediately thought, “huh, that looks so divine,” and then simply decided it would be too difficult and I would most likely ruin it. As soon as that thought crossed my mind, I realized I had to make it. My new resolution with cooking is to take on the difficult, so let’s be honest: I really had no choice. I tackled this puppy and we both adored the way it turned out and had them for breakfast for the entire week.

How to make it last:

* We baked all of them at once and froze half for another week.
* Toast them. They are delicious, but so much better toasted with some homemade jam. (We used my mother-in-law’s homemade blackberry jam. Mmmm)

Big Sur Bakery Hide Bread
adapted from Sprouted Kitchen

5 Cups Unbleached All Purpose Flour
½ Cup Flax Seeds
½ Cup Sesame Seeds
2 Cups Oat Bran
¼ Cup Sunflower Seeds
½ Cup Millet, Quinoa, Poppy seeds or Amaranth (or any combination- I used Quionoa)
1 tsp. Kosher Salt
1 tsp. Baking Soda
1/3 Cup Beer (I used Guinness)
2 ½ Cups Buttermilk, Milk or Half and Half (I used Buttermilk!)

Oven to 375, Middle Oven Rack
Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat. Our pans are awesome and don’t stick, so we didn’t need to line them.

Mix all of the dry ingredients together in a large bowl. Make a well in the center and add the beer and buttermilk (or alternative). Use a wooden spoon or your hand to mix the wet batter. Sprinkle some flour on top, and put it on a floured work surface. Gently roll is out to form a loose log, about 2-3 inches in diameter.

Cut the log into 1 ½ inch slices and give them a little pat into a patty form. Don’t make them too small, they get dry. Lay on the baking sheet. Bake on the middle rack for 40 minutes until golden. Remove and cool.

For serving, slice open and toast. They have a raw bread flavor inside (like a bagel or English muffin) so toasting is crucial.

Shared with: John and Dani
Paired with: Coffee from Coffee and Tea LTD, Minneapolis. Delicious mornings.

