I always love trying new dessert recipes, but the baked goods scare me a bit, only because when it comes to them I am a perfectionist. I have always thought of myself as a somewhat good baker (I spent my first year in the big apple perfecting my chocolate chip cookies). I prefer trying a recipe a few times before debuting them at any kind of social event, but with my new and improved super busy schedule, I don’t really have the time (or the money) to try anything more than once. I baked these bad boys for a dinner party and had lots leftover (they are super rich so one can only eat one or two— or three or four if you’re me, thanks for that sweet tooth, mom.)

Anyways, I digress (shout-out to my husband). This recipe was perfect. I got it right on the first try and I didn’t change a thing. Deb over at Smitten Kitchen never fails me.

How to get the most out of this recipe:

* Double it and freeze these sweet puppies!

Cheesecake-marbled brownies
from smitten kitchen

Makes 16 2-inch square, thick brownies

Brownie batter
1 stick (1/2 cup or 4 ounces) unsalted butter, cut into pieces
3 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2/3 cup all-purpose flour

Cheesecake batter
8 ounces cream cheese, well softened
1/3 cup sugar
1 large egg yolk
1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Plus
1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Make brownie batter: Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 350°F. Butter an 8-inch square baking pan. Heat butter and chocolate in a 3-quart heavy saucepan over moderately low heat (unless you happen to have a microwave) whisking occasionally, just until melted. Remove from heat and whisk in sugar, eggs, vanilla, and a pinch of salt until well combined. Whisk in flour until just combined and spread in baking pan.

Make cheesecake batter: Whisk together cheesecake batter ingredients in a small bowl until smooth. Dollop over brownie batter, then swirl in with a knife or spatula.
Sprinkle chocolate chips over cheesecake/brownie batter swirl.

Bake brownies: Bake until edges are slightly puffed and center is just set, about 30-35 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Shared with: John & Friends.