Crunchy peanut butter ice cream

I heard once that if you perfect vanilla ice cream you can do anything. After getting my very first ice cream machine I started with the vanilla, but I was way too impatient to do anything more than the simple recipe (heavy cream, whole milk, sugar, and vanilla) as opposed to the fancier version which sounded like waaay too much work (they turned me off at “splitting a vanilla bean”– I’m sure it’s not that difficult to figure out, but when Sae wants ice cream, Sae wants it now…)

The vanilla was fun,  but I was far more pleased with myself over this one:

Peanut Butter Ice Cream
from Kitchen Chick

1 cup peanut butter (I followed Kitchen Chick’s suggestion of Jif Extra Crunchy)
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 cup whole milk
1 – 1/3 cups heavy cream
2 tsp vanilla extract

Combine the peanut butter and sugar until smooth. Add the milk. Blend on low speed until smooth and the sugar is dissolved. Stir in the heavy cream and the vanilla (don’t stir too much, just a few strokes until it’s well mixed).

Place in your ice cream maker and let it run until it’s as thick as it’s going to get, then scrape it into a container. If you let it sit in a freezer overnight, it’ll harden up and have the standard ice cream consistency you’ve come to know and love.

Instead of a chocolate sauce, we used my chocolate mill to dress up the salty peanut taste with some sweetness but it ended up just making it even richer! It was delicious, but definitely not a dessert you can eat all night.

Shared with: John and Jennie.

