These days, it seems almost impossible to find time to hang out with the women that I love. Thanks to the miracle of schedules falling into place (and a 3-day weekend) I was able to invite a few of my girlfriends over for a much needed brunch and catch-up session. These women are the kind of people that used to make me blush (think: first time I saw Samantha on Sex in the City) but they have fast become my source for the hilarity of the modern, intellectual chick and the way we think, breathe, eat, and love like crazy. These girls bring me to the point of laughter in less than a second, talk smack about the things (and humans) that are completely deserving, and give me comfort in their all-to-similar way of thinking as myself. They rejuvenate my desire to be a better, smarter, and crazier woman.

So raise your mimosas together and toast whatever gal-pal you have sadly neglected and make this dish to thank them for being amazing.

Breakfast Egg and Veggie Sausage Braid

1 roll Pillsbury Pizza dough (found in the dairy section)

5 large eggs

1 8 oz package veggie sausage patties (I used morning star patties)

1 garlic clove, minced

1 small white onion, diced

Olive oil

1/2 C grated pepper jack cheese

(Add 3 bottles of sparkling wine, 1 container of OJ, and 3 of your best friends for an even better recipe.)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Cook veggie sausage patties or links in a skillet for about 10 minutes. Continue to add water as needed (see package directions). Put in a bowl and scramble with either a fork or a potato masher. You want this to resemble ground beef.

Wipe skillet clean. Add oil and onions and cook until transluscent. Add garlic for about 1 minute. Set aside with the sausage. Wipe skillet down again.

Scramble eggs in a skillet. It is important to undercook your eggs so they are still slightly runny.

Next, use a rolling pin and a lightly floured work surface to roll out the crescent dough to about 10 in x 12 in. Lay the eggs down the center of the rectangle, leaving room on both sides and the 2 ends. Top with veggie sausage, onions/garlic, cheese, and a couple shots of hot sauce if you want.

Use a knife or pizza crust to slice slits down the sides of the dough, roughly 6-7 on each side. Now starting on one end, bring the side pieces in and overlap them. You’ll want to alternate- one from the right, then one from the left and so on and so on. Keep doing it until you get all the way to the end.

(Click here for some lovely pictures from Our Best Bites on how to slice and fold the braid. I was apparently too distracted to remember to take some play-by-play photos for everyone to see!)

Honestly, I didn’t really follow the braiding as closely as I should have, mostly just because I was hungry and wanted to get this into the oven as soon as possible. =)

Bake for about 15-20 minutes, or until brown on top and bottom. Let sit for about 5 minutes before slicing and serving!